Home Food The Contents of A HACCP Plan

The Contents of A HACCP Plan

5 min read
Comments Off on The Contents of A HACCP Plan

An HACCP plan (Hazards Analysis Critical Control Points) is a key component of following an EU/UK legislation compliant HACCP based food safety management system. It focuses on an operation’s specific requirements for food preparation, storage, safety controls and how to minimise risks.

A full understanding of the seven HACCP principles is vital for success and if there are knowledge gaps or an employee is being introduced to HACCP please initiate HACCP training in addition to the mandatory food safety and health and safety training.

 The 7 HACCP principles

  1. To identify any hazards that must be removed, reduced or avoided.
  2. To identify the critical control points (CCPs.) These are the points at which you need to prevent, remove or reduce a hazard in your process.
  3. Set limits for the CCPs.
  4. Monitor the CCPs.
  5. Enforce remedial actions when there is an issue with a CCP.
  6. Implement checks that the measures are working.
  7. Keep satisfactory records.

HACCP training and enforcement may incur fees and training hours which are unwelcome but these are substantially less costly than a food safety related incident, legal action, fines, loss of reputation and a poor Food Hygiene Ratings Scheme score.

When HACCP practices and HACCP plans are actively employed it is evident to the FSA and local authority inspectors. The scores are routinely higher.

Cross contamination can lead to consumer ill health and potentially a death so what may appear to be an insignificant and unaddressed flaw in preparation or storage practices can result in huge ramifications. An HACCP plan is a positive step towards standardising practices utilising the HACCP principles.

Training for all levels of staff is available through specialist firms including Food Alert, in classroom, on the business premises, and at basic food safety level, online. The scope of supervisor, management and owner level HACCP training requires personal attendance.

Level 2 is equivalent to GCSE grades A*-C. Supervisors, management and owners can progress to level 3, AS/A level standard.

Level 2 HACCP training:

  • HACCP food safety management systems.
  • Risk awareness.
  • HACCP’s purpose and benefits.
  • How to use HACCP.
  • The seven principles.
  • Establishing HACCP food safety management systems.
  • Identifying HACCP procedures.
  • Hazard recognition.
  • Critical control points.
  • Corrective actions at all levels of employment.
  • Food hygiene – assessing critical control areas.
  • Contamination, its sources and controls.
  • How to reduce/eliminate risks using HACCP.
  • How HACCP reduces risks.
  • Workplace safety.
  • Staff competency.

Level 3:

  • The legal requirements.
  • The controls needed to ensure food safety and monitoring.
  • Understanding of the HACCP principles and how these can be equated to a food safety management system.
  • How food safety management tools assist the implementation of HACCP requirements in a catering environment.

Companies like Food Alert also host training courses about how to personalise special HACCP’s with examples tailored to your needs and industry requirements. HACCP plan templates are available and aid CCP analysis, correction and monitoring management.

Your customers assume that you and your employees have a duty of care and will keep them safe. Don’t disappoint them, or you.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Taft Maca
Load More In Food
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Where to Search for the Best Quality Processed Cheese Cooking Equipment

When it comes to finding the right cooking equipment, you should rest assured that KSE wou…